The Brittle Saga Trilogy

Historical Fiction – The Brittle Saga

historical fiction

Historical Fiction & Historical Romance

The Brittle Sea is book one in the Tom Kane’s historical fiction Brittle Saga trilogy. Book two is The Brittle Land and book three is The Brittle Sky. See below for details.

The Titanic disaster is the catalyst that sparks a bloody feud between two families in early 20th century America.

historical fiction

I’m often asked where I got the idea for The Brittle Sea. It was when I was reading a book about the rescue attempts, or lack of in some cases, when the Titanic sank. It occurred to me that it would have been terrible for survivors who weren’t picked up by ships such as The Carpathia, to watch the last ship sail away leaving them stranded and certain to die. A quite horrible thing to contemplate. Then I wondered who the last person was to be picked up. That’s when I had the idea of a lone survivor being picked up by the very last ship on the scene. That was the moment Magda Asparov was born.

It wouldn’t have been much of a story if Magda had been picked up, taken to New York, and sent on her way. So, what if she fell in love with the handsome ship’s captain that saved her. Even better if she had been betrothed to someone else and was travelling to New York to marry in an arranged marriage. Then I knew the why of the journey, but nothing about where she was travelling from. Suddenly, Magda was alive and well and living in my head. She’s been living there for around four years and as time went on, I’ve grown fond of her, in fact I have a secret crush on her. So much so, I realised I was going to have to write about her and so I did.

The Brittle Sea is the result of that love affair.

“It’s got romance, murder and mystery. It is told from different points of views which I enjoy in a book because you get more depth. This is book one of three and it’s an outstanding start.”


historical fiction

The Brittle Land, book two in the Brittle Saga is now available on Amazon Kindle. You can get your copy by clicking here.

The original version of The Brittle Sea was a single standalone novel. But when it came to the finishing line in drafting my novel, there was enough material to form the basis of another book. This was when I had the idea of creating a trilogy. Two things came to me at the same time. That mental health was going to play a big part in my trilogy and that it must encompass a period of time where major forces worldwide are at play. The Titanic disaster is a tool in which I introduce the main characters in The Brittle Sea. With The Brittle Land I use two more terrible events as tools to lay the foundation for changing another character, from a good person to an evil monster. World War One followed by the Spanish Flu pandemic are ideal vehicles for shaping people’s views and altering them irrevocably.


historical fiction

The Brittle Sky is book three in the Brittle Saga and is due to be published soon. An interim date of 23rd August 2021 is in place.

At the end of The Brittle Land the world has witnessed two terrible events, The Great War and the Spanish Flu pandemic. In The Brittle Sky two more major forces come into play, the Wall Street Crash & Great Depression, followed by World War Two. The timeline for The Brittle Sky is 1920 to 1958 and slightly beyond.

I won’t say much more now because I don’t want to spoil your fun, or mine for that matter.

The Brittle Sky will be published on 24th December 2021. Pre-order now


Copyright © Tom Kane 2021

Brittle Media publishing The Brittle Sea, The Brittle Land and The Brittle Sky.




This site is protected by

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :